ICMA, international classic music awards, 18.1.2024
Winners 2024

Here is the list with the ICMA winners of the year 2024, as established by the Jury comprising the jury members from the following media: ANDANTE (Turkey) – CRESCENDO (Belgium) – DAS ORCHESTER (Germany) – DEUTSCHE WELLE (Germany) – IMZ (Austria) –– MDR KLASSIK (Germany) – MUSICA (Italy) – MUSIK & THEATER (Switzerland) – OPERA (UK) – PAPAGENO (Hungary) – PIZZICATO (Luxembourg) – POLSKIE RADIO CHOPIN (Poland ) – RADIO 100,7 (Luxembourg) – RADIO KLASSIK STEPHANSDOM – RADIO ROMANIA MUZICAL (Romania) – RESMUSICA (France) – RONDO CLASSIC (Finland) – SCHERZO (Spain) – UNISON (Croatia)
Giacomo Puccini: Turandot

Sondra Radvanovsky, Jonas Kaufmann, Ermonela Jaho, Michael Spyres, Michele Pertusi Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia, Antonio Pappano
Coro dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia,
Antonio Pappano
Warner Classics

Puccini’s Turandot conducted by Antonio Pappano is not just an orientalist-romantic fairy tale, but a powerful drama and ritual full of bloodlust, horror and touching sensitivity. The Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia plays brilliantly, and the interpretation underlines the opera’s modern features and symphonic cohesion without losing anything of the genuine Puccini- lyricism and Italian flow. Sondra Radvanovsky, Jonas Kaufmann and Ermonela Jaho create intense and nuanced roles, and the original Alfano finale adds value to the well-produced recording.



  www.jkaufmann.info back top