Tribune, Irland, 25 October 2009
Karen Dervan
Jonas Kaufmann/ Claudio Abbado/ Mahler Chamber Orchestra
Opera Arias by Mozart, Schubert, Beethoven & Wagner 
Rating: 5/5

The best compliment that can be made of this recital is to say that any opportunity to hear Kaufmann portray on an operatic any of the roles of which he gives us a snapshot here, Tamino, Parsifal, Lohengrin, Florestan, is one worth any money. His dynamic range is as controlled and beautiful in a dolce piano context as in a full, powerful Wagnerian stride, with every detail as carefully addressed and caressed by the maestro Abbado. Contributions from Margarete Joswig (mezzo-soprano) and Michael Volle (bass-baritone) add to the magic of what is easily one of the best releases of 2009. 

 back top